Skip to content

Holiday

March 9, 2011

Today began Lent. I am not Catholic, but I have in the past given up something for the duration of the observed holiday as an exercise in self-control. One year I specifically gave up Dr. Pepper. Another year I gave up carbonated beverages (thank you, Sarah, for holding me to it when I really wanted those cherry-limeades). And yet another year, I gave up caffeine. Unfortunately, I do not think I would function very well if I gave up any of these since I already struggle to stay awake and study.

On a more serious note, self-discipline, sacrifice, and faith are important. And in no way am I attempting to make light of this holiday in this post. Please enjoy this video I stumbled across of an extremely moving rendition of Ave Maria. (If you wish to skip the “comedy” which is worth watching at least once, the music begins at approximately 2:05).

But grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ. To him be the glory both now and to the day of eternity. Amen. (2 Pet 3:18)

From → Holiday

One Comment
  1. I was struggling too. 🙂 If it makes you feel better, I’m giving up sugar this year. That means no Dr. Pepper, no frappuccinos, no sweetener (not even agave nectar!!) in my coffee, no ice cream or cookies. I’m even considering giving up vanilla yogurt because it’s so sweet! My only exception is birthday cake, because it would just be rude to turn down my own celebration. I considered giving up coffee, but let’s not get crazy.

Leave a Reply

